Shopping cart (0 items € 0)
Go Back

Cities and fortresses in the Dutch Seven Provinces in the 17th century

KIRCHNER, Christian.
Holland, oder Beschreibung der sieben vereinigten niederländischen Provintzen, nebenst denen darzu eroberten Oerten, darinnen alle Städte, Festungen, Flecken, Seen und Flüsse samt andern merckwürdigen Sachen, auch die vornehmsten Städte und Festungen darbey in Kupffer gestochen.
Leipzig, Christian Kirchner, 1672. 8vo. With an engraved frontispiece and 31 folding engraved plans of various cities in the Low Countries. Contemporary vellum. [14], 229, [3 blank], 32, [8] pp.
€ 3,500
Rare first and only edition of a description of the Seven Provinces of the Netherlands by Christian Kirchner. The provinces of Holland, Guelders, Zeeland, Utrecht, Friesland, Overijssel and Groningen are each treated in separate chapters with extensive information on the history of their cities, fortresses, etc. The plans depict Amsterdam, Alkmaar, Breda, Vlissingen, The Hague, Hoorn, Haarlem, Leyden, Rotterdam, Utrecht, Zwolle, Zutphen, etc.
Near contemporary owners inscription of Friederic Bercken dated 1690 on title-page; bookplate and manuscript inscriptions on first fly-leaves. Blank leaf in preliminaries lacking; front hinge weak, but still in good condition. Bircher, Deutsche Drucke des Barock, B9479; Sloos, Warfare 15043 (1 copy); VD17 3:304600P (6 copies); WorldCat (4 additional copies); not in Bodel Nijenhuis; De Buck; Jähns; Jordan.
Order Inquire Terms of sale

Related Subjects:

Low countries  >  Cartography & Topography | History, Economics, Law & Politics
Military history  >  Fortification & Military Architecture | Military History up to 1700